top of page
  • Writer's pictureL.D. Walters

Atlantis in Peril

Updated: May 31, 2022



In Atlantis Rising, Promi and Atlanta saved their homeland by transforming it into the magical island of Atlantis. They had hoped that would keep it out of the clutches of the evil spirit warlord Narkazan. But Narkazan has returned, more determined than ever to conquer the spirit realm and Atlantis as well.


T.A. Barron is a wizard with words! His prose is very easy to read, and it's hard not to fall in love with his characters. The beginning flowed very well, and it was better than the first. However, the words "Totally" and "hey" kept jerking me out of the ancient setting. Even more so when the Greeks built machines like dirt diggers and vehicles that had engines? What? Engines? In ancient times? It was kind of hard to believe and made the rest of the story feel more like a steampunk novel than an ancient fantasy. It confused me in so many ways. How did they make them? I'm certain a blacksmith couldn't have designed an engine. I mean, I get that the plans and ideas came from Narkazan, but still you can only use what you have to create technologies. And Reocoles being Greek would have known to use ropes, pulley systems, tools to use... I don't think any ancient tools could design something so complicated as an engine. Unless T.A. knows something I don't?


Aside from that, the rest was wonderful! I loved how vast T.A. Barron's imagination is. He creates the most unusual creatures like Kermuncles, Hoolahs, Mistwraiths, and even more evil villains that you want to see lose. I loved Kermi. He is so funny! I hope to read more by T.A. Barron. And even more so, watch the Merlin movie he has been working so hard on.


One thing about T.A. Barron's novels that I absolutely love, his strong female leads and equality for both genders. Jaladay, Atlanta, Rhia, Elli, and Branwen are all females from his different novels that pulled me into his world more. I am eager to see how Atlantis sinks into the great ocean during "a terrible day and night of destruction".

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Azure

Violet

bottom of page