top of page
  • Writer's pictureL.D. Walters

Atlantis Rising

Updated: May 31, 2022




I am so excited to do a review for this book. For those of you who don't know, T.A. Barron is my favorite author. His prose is always amazing and his plots don't disappoint.


I have read this book before but got distracted. Lol! One perk of being ADHD, I guess. 😆 I actually had to wait for this book for over ten years. In 2009, when I was in 8th grade, he asked on his website, "What do you think about a story of Atlantis?" I was elated and very familiar with the story because of the Disney movie "Atlantis the Lost Empire". And I couldn't wait to see T.A's take on the mythical isle!


In Atlantis Rising, the new book by best-selling author T.A. Barron, Promi makes an enemy of Deputy High Priest Grukkar, and then steals a smackberry pie right out from under the Divine Monk. While enjoying the stolen pie, Promi is caught by Grukkar and thrown into the deepest, darkest dungeon in Ellegandia.


The plot... this time felt... too familiar. It was almost like I was reading The Lost Years of Merlin, another book by him. Boy has lost memory. He befriends a forest girl who wears vines as a garb. He has to save the world. His enemy has tusks. It just felt too much like his afore mentioned novel. I think he could have changed it up if Atlanta were the main character instead of Promi and have Promi be the forest dweller this time. Also, some of the vegetation didn't seem African. The entire forest felt more American or English. Fir for example, he could have described it as having teal colored leaves. Narkazan was too much like Rhita Gawr, right down to the tusks. I think it would have been more enjoyable if it didn't reflect The Lost Years of Merlin as much.


Despite its flaws, I loved it. The story was intriguing enough it kept me glued to the book until the final chapter. I cried at the end, though. I think it was just the middle of the story that bugged me.

Promi, a clever nickname for Prometheus, is very interesting. I want to see how this plays out and if he's more like the Greek god or not. The climax was wonderful, as usual. I'm going to read the rest of the saga and do more reviews. 😉 Don't forget to check out his books! They're worth it!





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Azure

Violet

bottom of page