top of page
  • Writer's pictureL.D. Walters

Go the Distance

What if Meg had to become a Greek god?



After Hercules proves he's a true hero and regains his godship, all seems right in the world. That is, until Zeus tells Meg that she can't be with Hercules because she's, well, mortal. Luckily, Hera has a solution, offering Meg a chance to prove herself worthy of a spot on Mt. Olympus–as a god.


This was phenomenal! Let's face it, Megara is the Disney character that needs to be explored more. And that's exactly what this book did! As a child of the '90's, I watched Disney movies like no other and one of them was Hercules, which was based on the myth Heracles of ancient Greek origin.


This was the sequel we didn't know we needed. And to be frank, Zeus' acceptance of Hercules living on earth at the end of the movie was pretty well Disney-fied. In reality, I believe he would have put up more of a fight to keep his son after waiting for him for so long. Megara's theme song, I Won't Say, played through my mind all the way to the last page. And she has become my new favorite person. Again, Jen Calonita channeled her so perfectly it was like Meg was in the room with me. I am so gonna get a Megara Funko Pop! now.


What I really loved about the book was that in order to become a god, she had to rescue her ex's dead wife. Yep, the same guy that caused her distrust of men. Not only that, but she had to go back to the Underworld, confront Hades again, and try to bust out of Hell. James Woods' voice was so clear in my head it was like I was reading the sequel to the movie. And there were times the character terrified me. I like Jen's prose. It flows so well.


I highly recommend this book!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Azure

Violet

bottom of page