top of page
  • Writer's pictureL.D. Walters

Reunited

Updated: Aug 18, 2021





Colleen Houck has done it again! The love story made me breathless. Her emotions are so tangible. Lily has to rediscover herself and fall in love with not one but three men! Which will she choose?


Okay, so the only things I had trouble believing was that this was meant to be Egyptian. Unicorns? Okay, I'll buy it. But dragons? It just felt out of place. Especially when the dragon was supposed to be Sutekh oops, I mean Seth. I mean, I guess he could have that form considering how ancient he is.


But it took away from the Egyptian side of it. It felt more like a Greek/English lore than middle eastern. Especially when she described Seth with pale blue eyes instead of black or dark brown eyes, which would have been more believable. I too, have a main character who is Egyptian and has midnight blue eyes. But I only limited it to him since that color is very rare.


She has a thing for green or blue eyes making her characters unrealistic to their environment. Asten, Amon, Lily, Seth, and Ashleigh all have either green or blue eyes. I mean, Amon's eyes make him stand out but when you apply it to other Egyptian characters; it doesn't really seem special to just that character. You know what I mean? I loved Ahmose's eyes! His were a silvery moonlight hue. If she had applied other colors in the spectrum, I think it would have been more diverse. I also had a hard time believing the cosmos still existed without Ma'at. And the fact her Nana was the new goddess of the Duat. Why would the ancient Egyptian deities not choose an Egyptian for that? Or when Heliopolis was merging with New York, why wasn't it Cairo or the modern Heliopolis? There are just so many questions that ran through my mind.


I loved how Ammut was portrayed as dangerous, though, and how hard it was to defeat her. And it wasn't so far-fetched that Seth lied to her about having a romantic feeling for her. Something just never sat right with me and I think it's because Colleen never referred to Ammut by her name, but just called her the Devourer. I also got confused when Lily was given the name Nebthet because this is Nephthys' name in ancient Egyptian. Maybe I'm missing something? Or maybe it was just the meaning of the name given to Lily? Who knows but Colleen?


I loved how tangible the romance felt. It made me yearn when Lily did. And it made me cry when she did. Colleen was spot on with those emotions. Her world building drew me in. I could picture it more clearly than ever before, especially with the ultimate battle. I hope to read more by Colleen. Maybe her Tiger's Curse series next. What do you think? Give this book a try and I promise you won't be disappointed.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Azure

Violet

bottom of page