top of page
  • Writer's pictureL.D. Walters

The Legend of Zelkova

Updated: Aug 18, 2021




A fantasy novel from indie author S.L. Vaden, The Legend of Zelkova weaves a tantalizing tale filled with mystical elemental powers. When the king of Lignum sends Zelkova on a mission to rescue the Prince of Lignum, her journey begins. Along with her new allies, Cedrus, Ilex, Malus, and fellow female knight Carya, they must learn to work together or fail.


I loved reading her novel! From the first chapter to the last, I was hooked! She has a way with words that transcend anything I've ever read. And although her descriptions need improvement, the storyline was solid. It kept me wanting more.


What really engaged me, though, was how I could relate to Zelkova and put myself in her shoes. She loves the environment, is strong, doesn't let a man control her, and loves deeply. Aside from being a fantasy, she puts a spin on the four elements and weaves action with romance and bits of comedy.


It made me laugh, cry, steel myself for battle, and above all made me feel like a kid again. Her prose is very similar to T.A. Barron in loving nature and caring for the environment. We need more books like this. Books with strong female leads, romance that doesn't feel forced, LGBTQ representation, and diversity.


I highly recommend this to anyone who loves fantasy, elements, and a good read.


With surprising twists, The Legend of Zelkova is an instant classic.


7 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Azure

Violet

bottom of page