top of page
  • Writer's pictureL.D. Walters

"The Prom"


A Netflix original musical about a lesbian girl who wanted to take her girlfriend to prom but it got canceled because she lives in Indiana where people are judgemental and not Christ-like. From the first song, I fell in love with it! We need more musicals like this! The last time I saw a musical this good was Billy Elliot. It hits an emotional chord about being respected for who you are and not having to change.


With big wigs like Meryl Streep, James Corden, and Nicole Kidman The Prom is a must-see. Jo Ellen Pellman gives the role of Emma her all! Her acting is so believable that I actually cried when she cried and felt her emotions.


Keegan Michael Key co-stars as the principal. I was surprised to see him in another movie so soon. You see, he was the villain in Jingle Jangle. Another movie I fell in love with.


If this had been a blockbuster, it would have broken the box office! It's for those who have been ignored, felt invisible, been the wallflower, and felt they were nothing. I highly recommend it!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page